L'article (27) précédent

Le retour à la page
"Les Essais et Les Articles"

L'article (29) suivant


Art. 28

 

PDF    RTF

Au cours des années 1939-1945 la ligne du front avait foulé le sol de la Pologne (2-ème République Polonaise) à plusieurs reprises. La société polonaise subit de graves pertes humaines et matérielles dues aux combats. Malgré tout elles ne furent pas aussi cuisantes que celles des longues années d'occupation, dont l'objectif principal était la dégradation de la nation polonaise, par l'extermination de ses élites, par l'altération de la conscience et de l'intégrité nationale, et par l'étouffement de l'indépendance économique.

En 1939 parmi les villes de la 2-ème République Polonaise Rzeczpospolita, Varsovie la Capital et centre culturel, qui fut le plus touchée. Elle subit les plus grands dommages dans le domaine culturel. Les bombardements, prémédités, détruisirent à peu près 10 pour cent des bâtiments de la Capital: entre autres, les Archives de L'instruction Publique avec les documents de L'éducation Nationale de l'époque du Grand Duché de Varsovie et du Royaume du Congrès,(1815-1831), Les archives de la Trésorerie, La Bibliothèque du Majorat des Zamoyski avec, à peu près, mille volumes de documents d'économie du 16 ème et 17 ème siècles, périssent dans les flammes; tout comme La Bibliothèque du Majorat des Przezdziecki avec sa collection Paloniki du 17ème et 18ème siècle, et un riche recueil d' imprimés et de dessins du 18ème siècle. Les musées de Varsovie furent aussi gravement atteints: Le Musée d'Ethnographie ainsi que le Musée d'Industrie et d'Agriculture brûlent entièrement. Le Musée National perd ses collections des arts d'Extrême Orient et de Vestiges Egyptiens. Seules quelques oeuvres ont pu être sauvés de la ville en cours de destruction : les deux tableaux de Jan Matejko «La Bataille de Grunvalde» et «Sermon de Skarga» avaient été évacués du bâtiment des Beaux Arts Zacheta et transportés à Zamosc où ils passèrent la guerre sous le plancher de la remise municipale.

Le 29 septembre 1939 Viatcheslav Molotov, commissaire du peuple des Affaires étrangères, d'Union Soviétique, et Joachim von Ribbentrop ministre des Affaires étrangères du troisième. Reich signent le pacte d'amitié germano-soviétique qui règle la question des frontières. Ils scellent alors le quatrième partage de la Pologne. Selon les idées courantes il n'y avait que deux puissances occupantes, mais il ne faut pas oublier que Wilno Vilnus et son territoire de proximité avaient été occupés par la Lituanie de 1939 à 1945, et les régions de Spisa et Orawy par la Slovaquie.

Mais ce sont bien les Soviétiques et les Allemands qui en partageant le territoire le la 2ème République Polonaise, l'ont rayée de la carte politique de l'Europe. L'étape suivante devait mener à la destruction planifiée de la conscience et de l'identité nationale du peuple polonais. Les deux occupants commencèrent alors la lutte impitoyable  contre la culture polonaise et ses élites. Sur le territoire annexé la langue allemande était la langue officielle obligatoire; le polonais n'était qu'une langue auxiliaire en territoire de Gouvernement Général. On limita fort l'accès à l'éducation et à la culture. On supprima l'enseignement secondaire et supérieur, on autorisa uniquement l'enseignement primaire et certaines écoles d'apprentissage. On ferma, bien des lieux culturels: les bibliothèques, les théâtres, les salles de concerts. La musique de Chopin fut interdite. Les spectacles de cirque et les films précédés de chroniques propagandistes furent privilégiés. On entrava toutes les pratiques religieuses et en même temps on entreprenait des actions massives de destruction et de pillage des biens culturels de la Pologne.

Le 19 octobre 1939, les autorités allemandes proclamèrent la confiscation de tous les objets d'art qui se trouvaient, dans des archives, des musées, dans les collections publiques ou privées, et dont la «protection» était dans l'intérêt de l'Allemagne. Ce furent des institutions officielles qui s'en occupèrent avec en tête «L'Office Général Fiduciaire pour l'est» nommé par Hermann Göring le 1er novembre 1939, et  «L'Association des Recherches du Patrimoine».Sur le territoire de l'est occupé, le pillage fut confié également à «l' Office Général Fiduciaire pour la Préservation des Biens Culturels Allemands» et aussi à des mandataires spéciaux, entre autres le dr Kaj Mülmann et Hans Posse envoyé spécial de Hitler, «avec l'autorisation de choisir en priorité des œuvres d'art les plus précieuses».

Par l'ordonnance, du 13 décembre 1939, de Arthur Greiser, le titulaire en pays de Warta, on confisqua des collections d'archives de musées et de bibliothèques, en particulier celles de musée d'ethnographie à Poznan, des musées de Gluchow et Rogalin ainsi que celles du château de Kornik.

Ensuite on transporta au 3ème Reich les Trésors de la culture polonaise, pillés sur le territoire du Gouvernement Général et rassemblés dans les caves de la bibliothèque de l'Université de Jagellon à Cracovie. Au milieu de l'année 1940, parmi ces œuvres, on note 521 objets de valeur internationale comme des tableaux du musée des Czartoryski avec «Le portrait d'un Jeune Homme» de Raphaël Santi, «la Dame à l'Hermine» de Leonard de Vinci «Paysage du Bon Samaritain de Rembrandt», ainsi que les 25 tableaux de Bernardo Bellotti dit Canaletto et 55 objets de la cathédrale de Wawel.

L'administration civile et militaire  soviétique, après avoir annexé le territoire de l'est, entreprit l'anéantissement de toute expression polonaise. Le 29 novembre, on a obligé  les personnes qui se trouvaient après le 2 novembre  sur le territoire annexé, à prendre la nationalité soviétique. On liquida l'administration polonaise et de nombreux  lieux de cultes, toutes confessions confondues, furent transformés en magasins, remises, hangars ou en «musées d'athéisme». La langue polonaise cessa d'être la langue administrative. On liquida de nombreux musées et galeries. L'espace d'exposition occupé par les collections de la culture polonaise a diminué de 40 pour cent par rapport à celle de 1939 avant l'occupation. Même aujourd'hui, il est difficile d'évaluer l'ampleur des destructions de biens culturels de la Pologne par les actions irréfléchis et les pillages gratuits, commis par les Soviétiques. Déjà dans les premières semaines de l'occupation, 2000 de résidences étaient victimes de pillage; plus tard en 1940 beaucoup d'objets de valeur, appartenant aux domaines ruraux, seraient volés par le Musée Historique Moscovite. On évacuait systématiquement vers le Musée anti-religieux de Moscou, de nombreux manuscrits et des volumes de collections appartenant aux églises, aux couvents et aux domaines privés. On détruit aussi quelques milliers de lieux sacrés entre autre, dans l'église de Sainte Trinité on profana les restes de la dépouille du roi Stanislaw Auguste Poniatowski , et on transforma l'église en magasin d'engrais d'un Kolchose locale.

Les archives nationales polonaises subirent elles aussi des pertes considérables, une grande partie de leurs collections,  entre autres celles de Tarnopol, Stanislawow, Sokolow  furent envoyées aux archives soviétiques. Si on prend également en compte les exactions pratiquées par les autorités allemandes, pour leur seul butin de guerre de Varsovie (le contenu  de l’Archive Centrale Militaire, celui de l’Institut d’Histoire Contemporaine et aussi une grande partie de documents des Archives Principales des Actes Anciens dont 74 pièces des documents  de valeur inestimable concernant  l’époque des Chevaliers Teutoniques (1215-1466) qui se retrouvèrent au Reich), on arrive  à la constatation que, ce sont 5 million de pièces qui ont disparu des archives nationales et  des collections privées-ces pertes dues aux  batailles, au vandalisme, ainsi qu'aux pillages que les occupants avaient légalisées.

Les bibliothèques avaient été également beaucoup touchées. Celles qui se trouvaient sur le territoire annexé au 3ème Reich, ont eu un destin tragique. Au cours des premiers mois d’occupation, on brûle déjà les bibliothèques  publiques à Sosnowiec, Bedzin, Katowice, Cieszyn Torun Inowroclaw et à Plock.  A Lodz  on détruit,  en les envoyant à la mouture, 10 bibliothèques publiques, 100 bibliothèques scolaires, et 15 appartenant aux associations d’instruction et aux associations sociales. Selon  les chiffres officiels publiés en 1946-1948 par la Direction des bibliothèques, on évalue les pertes, de l’ensemble des écrits polonais à 15 millions 100 mille  volumes et 654 000 unités spéciales.

Des milliers de monuments furent détruits avec préméditation par les occupants;  le palais de Jablonski  et la Collégial de la Sainte Vierge à Lwow,  celle de Saint Alex à Tum pod Leczyca  datant de l’année 1161. On  évalue  les pertes de l’architecture polonaise au cours de la 2ème guerre mondiale  à 43 pour cent. 7535 bâtiments furent détruits totalement, 11938 monuments à 50 pour cent ou plus encore. Il faut souligner; que parmi les bâtiments totalement détruits on compte 23 édifices de style roman, 1937 de style gothique  811 de la Renaissance et aussi 3800 de style baroque et rococo. Des centaines d’autres  monuments prodigieux ont également détruits.

Les pertes auraient sûrement été encore plus grandes si des milliers de Polonais,  au péril de leur vie, n’avaient pas lutté pour préserver leur identité nationale. Ce sont les structures  spécialisées, crées par le Gouvernement Clandestin, qui permettaient le fonctionnement de l’enseignement clandestin et le développement de tous les arts. On  menait en permanence des actions de sauvegarde des biens culturels, et on enregistrait, sous la direction  de Stanislaw Lorentz et de  Karol Estreicher, les objets volés  ce qui permettrait de les récupérer, ne serait-ce que partiellement, après la guerre.

Les deux puissances d’occupation avaient voulu à tout prix rendre impossible la renaissance de la République Polonaise. Elles engagent alors une lutte impitoyable contre les élites intellectuelles et politiques qui, elles,  luttent  pour défendre leur pays. Dès le 1er septembre 1939, dans le programme de germanisation  des territoires habités par la race inférieure de Slaves –les sous hommes, qui plus tard sera reprise dans le plan général pour l’est,  on entreprend  opération d’une grande envergure,  Tannenberg, qui dura deux mois. On exécuta près de 20000 représentants de l’élite polonaise. Les actions contre les élites polonaises Intelligenzaktionen   se poursuivirent: Pommern,  Posen, Masovien Schlesien, et Litzmannstadt; on assassina ici 40000 Polonais et 20000 autres furent envoyés vers des camps de concentration où la plupart mourraient. En même temps, on mena des actions de déplacement des populations et les actions dites spéciales. Une d'elles se déroula à Cracovie le 6 novembre 1939 Au cours cours d'une avec les. Professeurs de l'Université Jagellon, le dr Bruno Müller SS Sturmbannführer dit «Monsieur   votre décision de continuer l’enseignement à l’Université, comme d’habitude, de donner des cours, de faire des examens des séminaires et des colloques,  prouve que vous ne vous rendez pas compte de votre situation. Votre décision est un acte contre le Reich». Le même jour on arrêta 183 personnes dont 169 se retrouvèrent dans le camp de concentration Sachsenhausen, près de Berlin où plusieurs d’entre eux seraient morts parmi eux Stefan Estreicher - éminent historien,  bibliographe, Ignacy Chrzanowski - historien de littérature  auteur  de «Littérature dans la Pologne indépendante», et Leon Sternbach  un philologue  mondialement connu  pour ses textes classiques et byzantins.  Une des actions de pacification la plus connue commise par les Allemands sur le territoire occupé, était celle appelée AB Ausserordentliche Befriedungsaktion: on arrêta alors au moins 3500 Polonais. Des représentants de l'élite, des activistes politiques, des artistes et aussi des personnes soupçonnées de connivence avec  les organisations clandestines, en étaient les victimes. Après des  interrogatoires brutaux une partie de détenus était assassinée et les autres envoyés en prison ou en camps de concentration. Les Allemands continuaient leurs actions d’extermination   les années suivantes. Quand la guerre   germano-soviétique éclate, et  après la prise de  Lwow en 1941, les occupants arrêtent et assassinent quelques dizaines de professeurs de l’Université Jana Kazimierza et de Polytechnique de Lwow. Ainsi périrent, parmi d'autres, Tadeusz Boy Zelenski - médecin, publiciste,  traducteur de  la littérature française;  Wlodzimierz  Krukowski – ingénieur électricien  mondialement connu auteur de 60 brevets,   Kazimierz  Bartel - mathématicien et 5 fois premier ministre ; de la 2ième République.

La répression en mas pratiquée par les Soviétique contre les citoyens polonais  comportait des déportations et des déplacements obligatoires de la population. Au cours des années 1940 - 1941  pas loin d’un demi-million de personnes  en furent touchées.

Les Soviétiques percevaient les élites polonaises, largement représentatives, comme une  menace potentielle pour leur régime. La plus  grande tragédie eu lieu dans les camps de prisonniers de guerre et dans les prisons en Ukraine et en Biélorussie. Elles pèsent toujours lourdement sur des relations politiques entre La République Polonaise et la Fédération Russe. Une partie des prisonniers de guerre était retenue, depuis le mois de septembre 1939, dans les 3 camps spécieux de NKWD à Kozielsk, Ostaszkow et Starobielsk, les autres étaient mis dans des prisons. L. Beria, le commissaire du peuple aux affaires étrangères,  envisageait de les accuser  d’activité contre révolutionnaire selon art.58 du 1 code pénal RFSRS de l’année 1929. Au début de mois de mars 1940  Beria envoie à Staline la liste des 14736  prisonniers de 3 camps spécieux, ainsi que celle des 10685 citoyens polonais se trouvant dans des prisons de NKWD en Ukraine et en Biélorussie. La plupart de ceux derniers étaient des officiers de réserve, des médecins, des professeurs universitaires des artistes  et des instituteurs. Ils sont tous assassinés par décision BP KC (b) du 5 mars 1940.

L’insurrection de Varsovie porta un coup fatal aux biens culturels et matériels de la Pologne,  l’héritage de plusieurs siècles d’histoire. Pendant 63 jours de batailles, face à la passivité de l’Armée Rouge et à l’aide minimale des Alliés pour la Capital en lute, les Allemands  détruisirent 25 pour cent d’agglomération. Après la cessation des hostilités, on détruisit encore le 35 pour cent des bâtiments. En 1944 on rasa le Palais Royal, ainsi que plusieurs musées archives bibliothèques, monuments et autres lieux culturels. Selon les estimations près de 150000 Polonais périrent pendant l’insurrection. Parmi eux, un nombre considérable de personnes qui  étaient sortis sains et sauves de l’extermination planifiée des élites polonaises et qui représentait la fine fleur de la société. Alors on ne dit pas sans raison que «les Polonais tiraient sur l’ennemie avec les diamants».  Krzysztof  Kamil Baczynski, Zdzislaw Stroinski et Tadeusz Gajcy les trois poètes illustres tombèrent sur les barricades  de l’insurrection.

Le bilan des dommages de la  culture polonaise causés par la guerre  était tragique. Il signifiait  la perte de Lwow et Wilno, deux villes  aux biens culturelles acquis au cours de plusieurs siècles; il signifiait aussi l’anéantissement des élites polonaises. Les  territoires acquis  situés à l’ouest et au nord du pays, étaient  ravagés par la guerre et en grande partie par les pillages prémédités des Soviétique au cours des années 1944 - 1947

    

Dr Grzegorz Jasiński, Varsovie

 

 

·      Bolewski, H. Pierzchała, Losy polskich pracowników nauki w latach 1939–1945. Straty osobowe, Wrocław 1989

·      K. Estreicher, Straty kultury polskiej pod okupacją niemiecką 1939–1944: wraz z oryginalnymi dokumentami grabieży, Kraków 2003

·      D. Matelski, Grabież i restytucja polskich dóbr kultury: od czasów nowożytnych do współczesnych, t. 1 i 2, Kraków 2006

·      P. Majewski, Wojna i kultura: instytucje kultury polskiej w okupacyjnych realiach Generalnego Gubernatorstwa 1939–1945, Warszawa 2005

·      Skuza, Wojenne i powojenne losy polskich skarbów narodowych, Toruń 1994

·      Sprawozdanie w przedmiocie strat i szkód wojennych Polski w latach 1939–1945, (red. M. Muszyński, P. Sypniewski, K. Rak), Warszawa 2007

 

 

 

Autre chose au
      sujet de l'auteur

Ten tekst po polsku

This text in English

Dieser Text in Deutsch

Au début de ce texte

L'article (27) précédent

Le retour à la page
"Les Essais et Les Articles"

L'article (29) suivant

 

 

* This site requires NN / IE 4.0+. A resolution of 800x600 provides the best results. Polish special characters set in CE Windows standard.
** Diese Seite verlangt NN./.IE 4.0+ Die Auflösung von 800x600 unterstützt das beste Ergebnis. Polnische Zeichen im Standard CE Windows.

*** Zalecane przegladarki NN / IE w wersji 4.0 lub nowsze. Polskie znaki w standardzie CE Windows.

Board of Editors: London Branch of the Polish Home Army Ex-Servicemen Association, oddzial.londyn@polishresistance-ak.org
Copyright © London Branch of the Polish Home Army Ex-Servicemen Association
(Copying permitted with reference to source and authors)

Redakcja: Kolo Bylych Zolnierzy Armii Krajowej - Oddzial Londyn, oddzial.londyn@polishresistance-ak.org
Copyright © Kolo Bylych Zolnierzy Armii Krajowej - Oddzial Londyn
(Kopiowanie dozwolone z podaniem zrodla i autora)

Redaktion: Kreis der Ehemaligen Soldaten der Heimatarmee – Sektion London oddzial.londyn@polishresistance-ak.org

Kopierrechte © beim Kreis der Ehemaligen Soldaten der Heimatarmee – Sektion London

(Kopieren zulässig unter Angabe der Quelle und des Verfassers)

Rédaction: Cercle d’Anciens Combattants de l’Armée d’Intérieur – Section Londres, oddzial.londyn@polishresistance-ak.org
Copyright © Cercle d’Anciens Combattants de l’Armée d’Intérieur - Section Londres
Copie autorisée avec l’indication des sources et de l’auteur

Web Design & Administration: Krzysztof Bozejewicz


Sponsored links: www.laptopy-dell.co.uk www.FlightsToPoland.info; www.FlightsPoland.co.uk; www.PolandFlights.info www.atastravel.co.uk

Previous (27) article

Back to the page:
      "Essays / Articles"

Next (29) article

Art. 28

grzegorz jasinski, Polish Cultural Losses in the years 1939-1945


 Download / Print   PDF    RTF

In the years 1939–1945 the frontline crossed the territory of the Second Polish Republic several times. The Polish population suffered heavy personal and material losses as a result of the fighting, but, nevertheless, not as heavy as the losses they suffered during the long years of enemy occupation. One of the occupant’s chief objectives was to degrade the Polish nation to be achieved through the physical extermination of its elites, the destruction of national awareness and integrity as well as rendering impossible the country’s economic self-sufficiency.   

Among the cities of Poland’s Second Republic the greatest destruction was inflicted on the country’s capital and centre of culture, Warsaw. At the start of the war deliberate aerial bombings destroyed approximately ten percent of its buildings. The Public Education Archive with documents from the National Education Directorate of the Duchy of Warsaw and ‘Congress Poland’ (1815-1831) as well as the Treasury Archive were among those burnt to the ground. Such was also the fate of the Zamoyski’s Ordynacja Library, with a thousand or so volumes of legal documents from the 16th and 17th centuries as well as the Przezdziecki’s Ordynacja Library with its collection of Polish texts from the 17th and 18th centuries in addition to a very large collection of 18th-century prints and drawings. Moreover, Warsaw’s museums suffered greatly. The Museum of Ethnography as well as the Museum of Industry and Agriculture were completely destroyed by fire. In the National Museum Egyptian archaeological finds and a Far Eastern art collection were lost. The Poles managed to evacuate only some works of art out of the intentionally destroyed city. These included Jan Matejko’s paintings The Battle of Grunwald and Skarga’s Sermon, which were taken out the Society for Encouragement of Fine Arts building and shipped to Zamość, where they survived the entire war hidden in a shed of the Municipal Rolling Stock Yard.

On 29th September 1939 Vyacheslav Molotov, the Soviet Union people’s commissar for foreign affairs, and Joachim von Ribbentrop, the Third Reich foreign minister, signed the Soviet-German Boundary and Friendship Treaty and thus formalised the fourth partition of Poland. The common view is that there were only two occupants. However, one ought to remember that in the years 1939-1940 Wilno (Vilnius) and adjacent territories were occupied by Lithuania, whereas Slovakia occupied the Spisz and Orawa region from 1939 to 1945.   

Nevertheless, it was the Soviets and Germans who partitioned Poland and thus wiped it off the political map of Europe. The next step was to deprive the Polish nation of its identity. Both occupants launched ruthless campaigns against Polish culture and its most distinguished representatives. In the newly formed General Government (GG) as well as in territories directly incorporated into the Third Reich, German became the official language – in the General Government Polish was permitted only as an auxiliary language. Access to education, art and science was radically curtailed. Polish youths were now denied the right to a secondary and tertiary education. Instead they were to attend primary and partly vocational schools. Many centres of culture were closed, including libraries, theatres and concert halls. The playing of Fryderyk Chopin’s music was prohibited. Instead circus performances were propagated and people were also encouraged to watch movies in the cinema, always preceded by propaganda news chronicles. Religious practice was generally hindered. Meanwhile Polish cultural property was destroyed or looted on a massive scale.

On 19th October 1939 the German authorities ordered the confiscation of all items considered necessary for the ‘securing’ of German national interests and found in Polish archives, museums, public or private collections. Entrusted with this task were state institutions headed by the Main Trusteeship Office for the East, called into being by Hermann Goring on 1st November 1939, and its affiliated Society for the Study of Predecessors’ Legacies. The plunder was also conducted by the Office of the General Trustee for the Securing of German Cultural Possessions in Annexed Eastern Territories as well as other special trustees, such as Dr Kaj Muhlmann or Hans Posse, Hitler’s special emissary ‘with a right of priority in selecting the most valuable works of art’.

As a result orders issued by Arthur Greiser, the German administrator of ‘Wartheland’, on 13th December 1939 the collections of Polish archives, museums and libraries were all confiscated and next shipped to the Third Reich. These included the collections of the Ethnographic Museum in Poznan, museums in Gluchow and Rogalin as well as in Kornik Castle. Cultural treasures looted from the General Government were stored in the cellars of the Jagiellonian University Library in Krakow. By mid 1940 the booty gathered there included 521 items assessed to be of international cultural value, among others, paintings from the Czartoryski Museum in Krakow (including Raphael Sanzio’s Portrait of a Young Man, Leonardo da Vinci’s Lady with an Ermine and Rembrandt’s Landscape with the Good Samaritan), 25 paintings by Bernardo Bellotto, popularly known in Poland as ‘Canaletto’, as well as 55 items from the Wawel Cathedral Treasury.  

After taking over Poland’s eastern borderlands, the soviet civilian and military administrations also set about destroying all signs of Polish civilization. On 29th November 1939 all inhabitants remaining since 2nd November on territories incorporated into the USSR were forced to accept soviet citizenship. The Polish administration was liquidated and Polish no longer had the status of an official language. All places of worship, regardless of religion, were closed and converted into warehouses or ‘museums of atheism’. Numerous museums and galleries were also closed down; the total space used to display items of Polish culture in 1939 was reduced by 40 percent.   Today it is difficult to assess the sheer scale of the plunder and mindless destruction of Polish cultural property by the Soviets. Already in the first weeks of occupation they looted over two thousand Polish residences. In 1940 many very valuable items from landed estates were stolen by the Moscow Museum of History. Likewise the Central Anti-Religious Museum in Moscow regularly confiscated priceless manuscripts and books from churches, monasteries and private collections. Several thousand sacred objects were destroyed. For example, the remains of the King od Poland Stanislaw August Poniatowski in the Church of the Sacred Trinity in Wolczyn were defiled and the building itself was converted into a fertilizer warehouse for the local kolkhoz.      

Polish state archives also suffered terrible losses. Most of the documents from places like Tarnopol, Stanislawow or Sokal were transferred to soviet archives. An identical policy was practiced on the German side. In Warsaw alone they treated as war booty fonds from the Central Military Archive, the Institute of Recent History and a large part of the collection in the Main Archive of Old Records (including 74 priceless Teutonic Order documents from the years 1215-1466). It has been estimated that as direct result of fighting and the legalised plunder in the years that followed approximately 5 million archive items were lost.

The treatment of Polish libraries was no better. The fate of those in territories incorporated into the Third Reich was particularly tragic. In the first months of the occupation public libraries in towns like Sosnowiec, Bedzin, Katowice, Cieszyn, Torun, Inowroclaw or Plock were burned down. In that time in Lodz the contents of ten municipal libraries, 100 school libraries and 15 academic society or community libraries was turned into pulp. According to calculations made in the years 1946-1948 by the Main Libraries Directive, the estimated losses to Polish literature included approximately 15.1 million volumes as well as 654 thousand exceptionally precious books.

Thousands historic buildings were also destroyed, including the Jablonowski Palace in Lwow as well as the 1161 Collegiate Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary and St Alexius in Tum near Leczyca. Enemy inflicted damage during World War II has been estimated to account for the loss of 43 percent of Poland’s pre-war architecture. A sum of 7,535 buildings were totally destroyed, whereas 11,932 buildings were at least 50 percent damaged. One should stress that among the buildings razed to the ground there were 23 examples Romanesque architecture, 1,937 Gothic buildings, 811 in the Renaissance style as well as 3,800 in the Baroque and Rococo styles. Moreover, several hundred precious statues and monuments were torn down.

Undoubtedly, these losses would have been even greater were it not for the efforts of many thousands of Poles who, frequently risking their own lives, struggled to preserve their national identity. During the occupation specialised organisations within the Polish Underground State provided clandestine lessons and made possible the continued development of various forms of art. Moreover, there were persistent actions (supervised by Stanislaw Lorentz and Karol Estreicher among others) to save cultural property as well as register robbed items to make possible the retrieval of at least some of them after the war.

Both occupying powers at all costs intended to render impossible the re-emergence of the Polish State. For this purpose they waged a ruthless war against Polish intellectual and political elites who could potentially lead the struggle to defend their country. As part of the policy to Germanize territories inhabited by ‘lower Slavic races – sub-humans’ (principles later to be adopted in the Generalplan Ost), already on 1st September an approximately two-month major campaign was begun, called  Operation Tannenberg, as a result of which almost 20,000 members of the Polish intelligentsia were murdered. This was followed by other German ‘actions’ against the intelligentsia (Intelligenzaktionen): Pommern, Posen, Masovien, Schlesien and Litzmannstadt. Thus a further 40,000 Poles were murdered and 20,000 more were sent to concentration camps, where most of them perished. At the same time the Germans also carried out mass evictions and so-called ‘special actions’. It was in Krakow during one these ‘actions’ – on 6th November 1939 – that SS Sturmbannführer Dr Bruno Müller announced to convened Polish lecturers from the Jagiellonian University, the Academy of Mining and Metallurgy and the Academy of Trade: ‘…Sirs! Your decision to reactivate the university, to conduct lessons, seminars, lectures and examinations proves that you have absolutely no idea of the situation that you find yourselves in. Your decision is an act of hostility against the German Reich…’ That day the SS arrested 183 people, 169 of whom were sent to Sachsenhausen concentration camp near Berlin, where over a dozen died, including the outstanding historian and bibliographer Stanisław Estreicher, the literary historian and author of Historii literatury niepodleglej Polski Ignacy Chrzanowski as well as Leon Sternbach, a classical philologist and expert on Byzantine history of world renown. As a result of the Germans most well known Special Pacification Action, (AB-Aktion or Ausserordentliche Befriedungsaktion), carried out on German occupied territory in 1940 at least 3,500 Poles were arrested. The victims were members of the intelligentsia, political and social activists, artists as well as those suspected of ties with the underground freedom fighting movement. These people were subjected to brutal interrogations, some were next murdered, while others were sent to concentration camps. This German policy of extermination was continued in the years that followed. In July 1941, after the outbreak of war with the Soviet Union and the capture of Lwow, dozens of Polish lecturers from the Jan Kazimierz University and the Lwow Polytechnic were arrested, and next murdered. Among the victims were Tadeusz Boy-Zelenski – physician, journalist and translator of French literature, Wlodzimierz Krukowski – a world famous electrical engineer and author of 60 patents, as well as Kazimierz Bartel – mathematician and five times prime minister of the Second Polish Republic.

The most massive form of repression applied by the soviet authorities against Polish citizens were the forced deportations and resettlements which in the years 1940-1941 affected no less than half a million people.

The Soviets saw a particular danger in what they very broadly considered to be the Polish political elites. That was what led to the greatest tragedy which occurred in POW camps and prisons in Belarus and Ukraine and still burdens on relations between the Polish Republic and the Russian Federation to this day. As prisoners-of-war, many of the victims were held in special NKVD camps in Kozelsk, Ostashkov and Starobelsk as well as various prisons. The project of Lavrentiy Beria, the people’s commissar for internal affairs, was to charge the Poles with counterrevolutionary activity under article 58, item 1 of the 1929 RSFRS Penal Code. At the start of March 1940 Beria   sent a letter to Stalin in which he presented a list 14,736 POWs from the three special camps and also a list of 10,685 Polish citizens held in NKVD prisons in Belarus and Ukraine. Most of them were officers of the reserve, in civilian life doctors, academic lecturers, artists and teachers. They were murdered on the basis of decision BP KC WKP(b), which was made on 5th March 1940.

A huge blow to centuries of Polish cultural and material heritage came as a result of the Warsaw Uprising. In 63 days of bitter fighting, as Red Army detachments idly looked on and Western Allies managed to provide only token help, the Germans destroyed some 25 percent of the buildings in Poland’s capital. Then, after the fighting had stopped, the Germans destroyed another 35 percent of the buildings. It has been estimated that some 150,000 Poles were killed in the Uprising. Among the victims was the flower of Poland’s intelligentsia, those who had survived the planned exterminations of Poland’s elites. It is with good reason people say Poles at the time were firing diamonds at the enemy. Among those who perished on the barricades were three outstanding Polish poets: Krzysztof Kamil Baczynski, Zdzislaw Stroinski and Tadeusz Gajcy.

On balance, the war was an unmitigated tragedy for Polish culture. It meant the loss of what the country had acquired over generations and centuries, the loss of important centres of Polish culture such as Lwow and Wilno as well as the physical extermination of the nation’s elites. The new territorial acquisitions to the west and north were to a great extent desolated by wartime fighting and the deliberate Soviet policy of plunder in the years 1944–1947.


Dr Grzegorz Jasiński


Bibliografia selektywna:

    • Bolewski, H. Pierzchała, Losy polskich pracowników nauki w latach 1939–1945. Straty osobowe, Wroclaw, 1989
    • K. Estreicher, Straty kultury polskiej pod okupacja niemiecka 1939–1944: wraz z oryginalnymi dokumentami grabiezy, Krakow, 2003
    • D. Matelski, Grabiez i restytucja polskich dóbr kultury: od czasow nowozytnych do wspolczesnych, vols 1 and 2, Krakow, 2006
    • P. Majewski, Wojna i kultura: instytucje kultury polskiej w okupacyjnych realiach Generalnego Gubernatorstwa 1939–1945, Warszawa, 2005
    • Skuza, Wojenne i powojenne losy polskich skarbów narodowych, Torun, 1994
    • Sprawozdanie w przedmiocie strat i szkód wojennych Polski w latach 1939–1945, (ed. M. Muszynski, P. Sypniewski, K. Rak) Warszawa, 2007



More about the Author

Ten tekst po polsku
Ce texte en français

Dieser Text in Deutsch

To the start of this text

Previous (27) article

Back to the page:
      "Essays / Articles"

Next (29) article



* This site requires NN / IE 4.0+. A resolution of 800x600 provides the best results. Polish special characters set in CE Windows standard.
** Diese Seite verlangt NN./.IE 4.0+ Die Auflösung von 800x600 unterstützt das beste Ergebnis. Polnische Zeichen im Standard CE Windows.

*** Zalecane przegladarki NN / IE w wersji 4.0 lub nowsze. Polskie znaki w standardzie CE Windows.

Board of Editors: London Branch of the Polish Home Army Ex-Servicemen Association,
Copyright © London Branch of the Polish Home Army Ex-Servicemen Association
(Copying permitted with reference to source and authors)

Redakcja: Kolo Bylych Zolnierzy Armii Krajowej - Oddzial Londyn,
Copyright © Kolo Bylych Zolnierzy Armii Krajowej - Oddzial Londyn
(Kopiowanie dozwolone z podaniem zrodla i autora)

Redaktion: Kreis der Ehemaligen Soldaten der Heimatarmee – Sektion London

Kopierrechte © beim Kreis der Ehemaligen Soldaten der Heimatarmee – Sektion London

(Kopieren zulässig unter Angabe der Quelle und des Verfassers)

Rédaction: Cercle d’Anciens Combattants de l’Armée d’Intérieur – Section Londres,
Copyright © Cercle d’Anciens Combattants de l’Armée d’Intérieur - Section Londres
Copie autorisée avec l’indication des sources et de l’auteur

Web Design & Administration: Krzysztof Bozejewicz

Sponsored links:;;